Magnum Opus

If there was anything in life I’d wish for, it’d be to have a magnum opus. So far, I have yet to get an idea for one, but when the time comes, I hope it’ll certainly be great. (It’s probably a bit too much to ask for the Great American Novel, so I’ll settle for a magnum opus that I think is presentable, at best)

It’s no secret that I (at least I think) that I want to write when I get older. Probably not in journalism, but it’d be nice to be the next Bernstein and Woodward, though. For me, I’d like to write books. I already have some ideas in my head already, specifically around two that I’d like to seriously consider writing and finishing one day.

If all goes well, I’d like to write a fun commercial series that people will hate/love, some just-okay novels, some average novels, and then the magnum opus. It probably wouldn’t be on the scale of The Great Gatsby, Moby Dick, or The Grapes of Wrath, but I’d like it to be like Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, if possible.

If I did become famous for one of the works I do (hopefully a good book), I’d probably not do much for the popularity I’d receive. I know, it’s probably quite an overstretch to think something I might write become famous (I’m not shooting for Harry Potter famous, but famous in the way that more than one person would buy it!) but I’m optimistic. I’m supposed to become a doctor when I grow older and attend medical school and I shouldn’t really be considering being an “writer because it can’t financially support me” and all that crud, but I’m hopeful.

And, if it’s not too conceited, I’d like to write a memoir about my life.

*laughs*

#weirdpostout

Leave a Reply

